24th Congress of ISL – Rome- 16-20 September 2013
Call Us: Phone: +39 0284925581
Fax. +39 0284925582



The International Society of Lymphology (ISL) was founded during the First International Symposium of Lymphology in Zurich, July, 1966. Now, in its 42st year of existence, the Society has some 350 members from 44 nations. Affiliated groups are: The Japanese Society of Lymphology, The North American Society of Lymphology, The German Speaking Section of Lymphology, The Groupement Europeen de Lymphologie, the Association de Lymphologie de Langue Français, the British Lymphology Interest Group, Club de Linfologia (Spain), Asociation Argentina de Linfologia, and the Latin-Mediterranean Chapter.


The object of the Society is the promotion of all activities which propose to:

  • Advance and disseminate knowledge in the field of lymphology and allied topics.
  • Stimulate and strengthen experimental and clinical investigation.
  • Establish relations between basic researchers and clinicians working in the field of lymphology.
  • Further personal contact and exchange of ideas among lymphologists.
  • Organize working groups (e.g., lymphology in filariasis, lymphedema treatment, lymphatic imaging, endolymphatic radiotherapy, AIDS-Kaposi sarcoma) or regional chapters.
  • Cooperate with other national and international organizations.
  • Organize international congresses and post-graduate courses.


The Executive Board, which is composed of fifteen members and elected by the General Assembly, handles the Society in the interim between congresses. General Assemblies are held simultaneously with international Congresses. The Nominating Committee suggests the members of the Board to the General Assembly.

  • General administration is secured by the Secretary-General. Headquarters of the Society is the Central Office in Tucson, Arizona, USA.
  • Past President: R. Baumeister, Munich
President : G. Manokaran, Chennai
  • Elect President: H. Brorson; Malmo
  • Secretary-General: M. Witte, Tucson
  • Treasurer: A. Pissas, Bagnols sur Ceze/Montpellier
  • Other Members of the Executive Committee: M. Andrade, São Paulo; F. Boccardo, Genoa; H. Brorson, Malmö; S. Leong, San Francisco; N.F. Liu, Shanghai; S. Michelini, Rome; A. Munnoch, Dundee; M. Ohkuma, Saitama; E. Okada, Toyama; C. Papendieck, Buenos Aires; N. Piller, Bedford Park; A. Pissas, Bagnols sur Cèze/ Montpellier; J. Wilting, Goettingen.
  • Advisory Committee: C. Campisi, Genoa (Chair)
  • Young Lymphologists: M. Amore (Latin America); C.C. Campisi (Europe); L. Chen (US); K. Doi (Japan).


Last news

‘With the support of the President of the Italian Republic on. Giorgio Napolitano’

Prizes for young researchers:

-Three $600 ISL Presidential Prizes
- One 700€ 24th ISL COngress President Prize
will be awarded for young lymphologists to participate in the 24th International Congress of Lymphology in Rome. Read more
Under Moral Patronage of Most Eminent Highness The Prince and Grand Master Fra’ Matthew Festing

Under the Patronage of Regione Lazio

Under the Patronage of Roma the Capital